Nappy : Back to the roots!

Choice.

I decided to go back to my natural hair.

Houssnati Baraka Nappy Hair

You know a couple of days ago, I decided to try something new on my blog and to post more content related to me ( without being narcissistic 🙂 !), so you can get to know me better.

Following today’s assignment, I’m taking another Blogging U class, I decided to share with you guys my story.

So…Nappy 🙂 !

It’s a fact, Nappy {as Natural and Happy} is trending. In Paris, in the subway, in the street, in grocery stores, you can find many, many, many women with their natural hair.

I’m black and I’m proud, you know what I mean!

You know, in the past decades, black women were all going like this:

I don’t know what to do with my hair, I have to go to the salon to get a nice haircut (let’s go for a relaxer 🙂 !)

Women: You’re beautiful as you are, don’t touch anything!

It’s kind like the “nude” phenomenon.

Now everybody wants to go back to the basics and simple things.

Now, the question is: Do all Black women have to get back to natural hair?

You know what? My story is a little bit different.

I have relaxed my hair once when I was little. It turned out to be a really bad idea as I lost both the volume and length of my hair.

So I decided to never, ever, ever do it again! (But you know what they say 🙂  , never say never!)

For a very long period I was all about Afro hairstyle, braids, flat twists and bun with headbands (I’m a really big fan of headbands! I think I should make another post for it!).

Houssnati

In 2014, I was up for a really big change (summertime 🙂 !)  and I decided to try that thing again. So I bought a new relaxer (different brand: less damage for my hair) and luxury hair extensions.

 

Then, in 2015, I decided to go back to my natural hair.

Why?

The answer is: the texture (women who have relaxed their hair, will understand me, for sure 🙂 !). We miss them! Even though we, girls, have frizzy or curly hair, at some point, we simply miss them.

Mine are very soft!

You might think there’re only a few hairstyles for black women with natural hair. But, you’re wrong. You can be as natural as possible (and beautiful as well 🙂 !) with short or long hair. If you wanna go fancy : you can try hair extensions.

The thing is: when I decided to stop, I didn’t go for the big shop. Nope. I think I simply wasn’t comfortable with it 🙂 ! So, I took great care of my hair.

Relaxed-hair women in Comorian society:

Anda. Anda is a traditional Comorian marriage. It has a great impact on the Comorian’s society and lifestyle. For most Comorian women relaxed-hair is the ultimate level of Comorian beauty. It’s kind like a standard. A little story, when a woman gets married, she uses relaxer to have the same result as everybody. Whether she has frizzy, curly or (that’s not a joke!) straight hair, she uses relaxer. Don’t worry 🙂 , now the things are going slightly different!

That is why many, many, times I was asked the same question: Why don’t you relax your hair?

Relaxed-hair women in French society:

When I was a child, one could hardly find products for frizzy hair in traditional stores. My family and I, had to go to African & Asian shops (lost of imported goods) to find special products that would suit our needs.

Kinky hair are delicate (not rebels as said in many commercials 🙂 !) They require special attention, different needs and have to be systematically hydrated.

Natural kinky hair in French society: kind of a challenge!

  • The right hairsalon:

I decided to pick a random salon near me. I just ask the lady for a shampoo, a mask and to comb my hair (from the bottom to the top and not the other way around 🙂 !). She simply didn’t know how to do it. At last: she finally asked me that question: why don’t you go somewhere else, somewhere you can find someone who can manage (and I’m not joking 🙂 !) hair like yours? I wish all hairdressers can have the same training program so I won’t be asked that question again 🙂 !

  • To find a position:

It’s a well known fact, you have to pay attention to your look & your clothes before an interview.

There is always someone (I don’t know: a friend or a member of your family 🙂 !) that will tell this:

“Don’t you wanna get a new haircut: maybe cut your hair?” If it’s a man.

“Relax your hair?” if it’s a woman or “maybe you should try a nice hair bun!”

Now, why is that?

The interview. We want to get in and match the standards.

  • French Tv :

Diversity? There’s kind like a standard for everybody (especially for colored men and women). Afro haircuts? Braid extensions? I don’t know: volume 🙂 ? Missing! There’re only a few exceptions to that: musical Tv programs & community Tv channels.

Nowadays:

Things have started to change in the Beauty industry. Even famous brands now start to develop more products (skin & hair care) for black women. This sector has a high financial potential.

Yet, there’re still improvements to do, especially in commercials: « Do you have damaged hair? Rebel? Are they hard to comb (etc…) ». Can’t we just say, delicate or simply kinky hair 🙂 ?

Things also are starting to change thanks to the Net. Voices are being heard. Blogs and Youtube have a big part to do with that. Now you can find tutorials, daily routine advices and key tips.

So you can be natural and pretty!

Finally:

I like my natural hair and sometimes I like to try something different. The best thing is to be confident and always remember beauty comes from within.

See you soon.

Houssnati Baraka.

 

Afro woman clipart found here.

 

Une réflexion sur « Nappy : Back to the roots! »

Laisser un commentaire